Recipe of the Week- 45 Second Oatmeal Cookie

Oatmeal Cookie

I gave up chocolate for lent so everyday is a new adventure as I try to find alternatives to satisfying my sweet tooth. I also like something fast so lately I have been experimenting with cookies that you can make in mugs.

I stumbled upon this recipe on  the Carrots N’ Cake blog while looking for new recipes and it is so easy that I have made it 3 times this week. It consists of everything I usually have in my cabinets and it always does the trick.

Now on to the cookie making!

What you will need:

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/8 cup liquid egg whites
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • 2 tsp all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp raisins
  • Cinnamon to taste

Since I don’t have raisins in the house I omitted this part, but I did have chocolate chips (we’ll meet again my friends) to my boyfriend’s cookie. I also used Whole Wheat All Purpose Flour.

Now, once you have all of your ingredients combine them all in a microwave safe bowl. Mix them until they are well combined and then squish and flatten the mixture to the bottom of the bowl with a fork.

Mixed Oatmeal

Microwave the cookie for 45 seconds and then allow to cool. I usually put it in the refrigerator to help it along.

Once cooled for a couple of minutes carefully remove the cookie from the bowl. Presto! A homemade, clean, healthy, and nutritious Oatmeal Cookie! 

Last week I topped this with my Banana Mango Chia Sorbet, I have also topped it with peanut butter, and may top it with a teensy bit of good old fashioned vanilla ice cream tonight!

Mango Oatmeal

Enjoy! 🙂

Next week will be a healthy twist on an old fashioned breakfast favorite! French Toast!

One thought on “Recipe of the Week- 45 Second Oatmeal Cookie

Leave a comment